Lent

We had what seems to be a good Tuesday night a couple of days ago.  After dinner, we spent some time reflecting on and preparing ourselves for Lent.  My hope was that we could broaden our perspective on this season a bit, and while not feeling burdened by a need for productivity and not believing that rest or mindlessness are bad things, that we might be able to see where we spend our time and energy and how these might be better used to reorient ourselves towards God.

I think that the idea of reorientation is key.   Lent is a time of preparation for Easter and traditionally has focused on getting rid of sin and vice, but I think that it should just as importantly be about setting up good life habits and being better equipped for God’s purposes.  I wrote some slightly more extensive thoughts on my blog if you are interested, but for here I wanted to maybe open up a discussion (not as a means of bragging about what we’ve all chosen to do…we’re not trying to one-up each other…but as a means of some accountability and/or sharing helpful ideas): what are you doing for Lent?  What are you putting off/taking on to reorient yourself toward God?  Any ideas for how we as a community could practice Lent together?

3 thoughts on “Lent

  1. I’m going to be taking a sabbath each week during Lent. It will probably be different each time but I am looking for at least half a day where I will go and accomplish nothing. Also I will find one our each week to just sit and listen to an album to slow myself down. I’m excited!

  2. I’m being a bit abstract and trying to “waste less time with silly time filling activities.” Basically, I’d like to be more deliberate about trying to get out and do some volunteer work or doing useful things like gardening or reading instead of easy defaults like surfing the internet. Nothing really grabbed me this year as a single thing to give up. Which is a little weird.

    What do you guys think about communal Lent? Should we maybe spend the next several Tuesday nights eating only rice or something?

  3. There’s an idea, Lukey! Especially since no one is signed up to cook for the next few times. 🙂

Leave a comment